Posted in Empowering Features

FROM MY HOMETOWN… “WORCESTER JOU LEKKER DING”

Let me close of my week of heritage. Discovery and accepting my own roots. Worcester is a town in the Western Cape, South Africa. It is located 120 kilometers (75 mi) north-east of Cape Town on the N1 highway north to Johannesburg.

Worcester was named and discovered by Lord Charles Somerset. Lord Charles Somerset named the new town for his eldest brother, the Marquis of Worcester and by 1840, 132 of the original 144 plots were sold.During the 1890s Worcester’s community would also evolve into an uptown section for rich and middle-class people and a downtown section for so-called poor Whites and Coloured people. Even the Dutch Reformed Congregation would censure European and Coloured people living under desegregated circumstances.Worcester received Municipal status on 30 September 1895. A Town Council, consisting of 8 members governed the town.

One can say, Worcester’s roots runs deep. It is a rich town, full of culture and tradition.

Every child that grew up here, always remembers the circus coming to town, school bazaars and the annual Easter Weekend madness. Family values is very important in this small town and people take their reputation very seriously.

Worcester is part of who I am. Worcester is like a braai on a lekker summers day, a get together of good friends, the heart and soul of every Worcesteriet, 925 on Easter Monday, Easter Monday Bazaar and Late night shopping in December. Although crime and certain people try to devalue our town and surrounding areas with their bad intentions to hurt others, a true Worcesterian knows what Worcester is all about. Worcester is Villa and Hamilton’s. Worcester is Perseverance and Alberts. Worcester is proudly South African. Everyone around the world is welcome in this beautiful valley. Filled with rich mountains, stellar wine farms and “die lekkerste Brandewyn ter wereld…”

I hope by me discovering my roots and claiming my heritage, each and everyone reading this gained a sense of proud where they come from. I absolutely love the fact that I am not ashamed about my roots. I embrace it…

MISS C

Author:

I am a free spirited and creative soul who loves music, love to write and singing my heart out. I also love to create new things with my hands and I have a passion for people. " The journey will never be the destination"

Leave a Reply

